top of page

incredibly kind and courageous

" I am back from my trip to Spain - luckily.  I feel like I got out just before the tsunami hit because Spain closed its border today and Germany too.  I ended my trip two days early.

The main reason I am writing is to tell you that my two hosts, Alberto & Pilar in Mallorca and Claudia in Menorca, were incredibly kind and courageous in helping me to get through the coronavirus ordeal in Spain.  I couldn't have made it without them.  They gave me advice, picked me up, drove me to the airport, made calls to the airlines and ferry that I couldn't make, and so forth.  All this I wouldn't have needed if the scare wasn't so real.  This instance is the reason for Servas.  I am glad I am part of this organization. Thanks again."

-Alan (member in North Carolina)

And this further comment when we asked if we could share his story:

"They really stepped to the plate in this case of emergency and without them, I wouldn't be in the USA right now.  If I couldn't have been able to escape, they would have been willing to care for me and share their homes.  I am glad I didn't have to infringe on their already complicated lives.  Their hospitality and generosity showed all the best characteristics of being human.  I (and my wife) will be forever grateful!"



bottom of page